Jeff spoke to Elizabeth Gholson of IPA Family in Raleigh about the Affordable Care Act.

What is the Affordable Care Act?

Also known as Obamacare, it is a law that came into effect in March 2010 that affords everyone access to health insurance, whether or not they have preexisting conditions. It also mandates that you have health insurance. If you choose not to, the law requires that you to pay a “cost-sharing payment” on next year’s taxes. Some people refer to these payments as penalties.

What is included in the Affordable Care Act?

1.  Outpatient care—the kind you get without being admitted to a hospital.

       2.  Trips to the emergency room.

3.  Treatment in the hospital for inpatient care.

4.  Care before and after your baby is born.

5.  Mental health and substance use disorder services: This includes behavioral health treatment, counseling, and psychotherapy.

6.  Prescription drugs.

7.  Services and devices to help you recover if you are injured, or have a disability or chronic condition. This includes physical and occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, psychiatric rehabilitation, and more.

8.  Lab tests.

9.  Preventive services including counseling, screenings, and vaccines to keep you healthy and care for managing a chronic disease.

10.  Pediatric services: This includes dental care and vision care for kids.

What isn’t part of the Affordable Care Act?

Dental and vision for adults is not mandated, only children. Also, for adults, one yearly visit is mandated and includes the flu shot.

Sometimes the Affordable Care Act is confused with Medicare. What’s the difference?

Simply stated, Medicare is for people who are 65 and older. The Affordable Care Act is for people 64 and younger.


For more information about the Affordable Care Act any other insurance needs, please contact Elizabeth at (919) 803-2149 or click here.

Click to access the login or register cheese